Fuoco Brass – Iwan Fox

Fuoco Brass- Conductor Jack Birch 2004

Fuoco Brass CD Cover -

Fuoco Brass, a band made up of young Salvation Army bandsmen, many of whom have played in top championship section bands, come together under the baton of Belfast's Jack Burch. Together with Black Dyke trombonist Brett Baker they present a mixture of old and new music, mainly from the Salvation Army repertoire.

One talking point is likely to be the inclusion of “Golden Slippers” amongst the solo items, and it receives a creditable reading, albeit rather different in effect to that when played on the cornet. Other highlights are Eric Ball's classic “The King of Kings” and a new processional and theme by Paul Drury, “Bound for the promised land”. All in all, some fine enthusiastic music making, with much to enjoy.


1. Prelude on Tallis, Peter Graham, 2.33
2. Come into our world*, Joy Webb arr Dorothy Gates, 5.34
3. Arise, my soul arise, Dean Goffin, 7.16
4. Londonderry air*, trad arr Howard Snell, 3.54
5. Spirit of praise, George Marshall, 3.31
6. Golden slippers*, Norman Bearcroft, 10.33
7. Wonderful healer, Dean Goffin, 5.47
8. The Lord's prayer, arr Barrie Gott, 2.44
9. My story, my song*, Stephen Foster, arr Ray Steadman-Allen, 3.45
10. The King of Kings, Eric Ball, 10.14
11. Bound for the promised land, Paul Drury, 4.18
12. There will be God*, Joy Webb arr Ray Steadman-Allen, 3.58
13. Elsa's procession to the cathedral, Wagner arr Himes, 6.06
*Trombone solo by Brett Baker

Total Playing Time: 71.07

Latest news